The gift / being thankful

The world can be a big, scary place sometimes. It’s full of bad people, and bad things. But just when the dark clouds are forming and you start to fear for humanity, a ray of sun can shine through. 

I’m sure we’ve all seen the various Facebook posts out there highlighting heroic acts and bravery, and I mean not to belittle them in anyway whatsoever. They are heroes. But what I’m talking about is the little things that we take for granted. 

Last week I suffered from an awful ear infection (and once again fell behind with blogging101!) but it meant that my left ear became completely blocked. I could hear hardly anything out of it, and it made me a bit wobbly. I made an appointment with the nurse to have my ear syringed, which was a most odd experience, but it resulted in this hallelujah moment when my ear was finally unblocked and I could hear fully again. I sat in the nurses chair and could hear the fan whizzing on the computer, the sound of the door snugly returning to its lock, and the birds outside. Walking home I had the biggest grin on my face, like a child discovering ice cream for the first time, and I vowed to myself that I would not again take the little things for granted. In fact now I’m sat in the garden in the lovely sunshine with a cup of tea, just listening. Yes, I can hear the main road and the kids in next doors garden. But really listen. There’s a whole world out there, just waiting to be heard. Go listen. 

Leave a Reply

